Pints for Parks
The state of Indiana itself is something we're passionate about, but the land, animals and natural beauty will always captivate us. We decided to partner with the Indiana Natural Resources Foundation to create a pints for parks series. Each new brew is named for one park, and a portion of sales goes directly to the DNR Division of State Parks.
Park History - McCormick's Creek became the first start park in Indiana and was dedicated in 1916 during the State's centennial celebration. The park is named after John McCormick, who served in the revolutionary war and settled the 100 acres of land in 1816, the same year Indiana became a state. Prior to the settlement, this beautiful land along the canyon and waterfalls was used for hunting by Miami Native Americans.
Park Geology - McCormick's Creek is well known for its amazing canyon on which is a mile long, 100 feet deep and displays spectacular views of Indiana limestone. This limestone was deposited around 318 million years ago during the Mississippian geologic period and was used in the construction of Indiana's historical state capitol. At one point, this area was covered by ice masses which left the geological patterns that we see today.
MONEY DONATED: $1,042
Park History - Indiana's second oldest park is the beautiful Turkey Run State Park located in west central Indiana. The name "Turkey Run" is believed to have used by early pioneers who utilized the canyons and narrow ravines to corral and harvest the abundant wild turkeys that inhabited the area. Captain Salmon Lusk originally owned a tract of this land which he was awarded for his military service. His son, John, later inherited the property and allowed the ID&S Railroad to establish a summer resort there in 1882. The resort remained in operation until John Lusk's death in 1915. Indiana purchased the property in 1916 for $40,200 in mostly private donations.
Park Geology - The park covers almost 2,400 acres of pristine streams, forests and unique terrain that contain lots of interesting geological features. Sandstone gorges revealing bedrock millions of years old can be seen along the many trails. Ancient glaciers created the scoured canyons and deposited Canadian bedrock and debris that were transported here by the ice flow. Coal mining operations that once operated in the area exposed coal seams that formed during the Carboniferous Period hundreds of millions of years ago.
MONEY DONATED: $879
MONEY DONATED: $1,345
Park History - Clifty Falls became Indiana's third state park in 1920 and the original 617 acre parcel was purchased for $30,000. The citizens of Jefferson County raised half of the purchase price, and the state provided the other half. The park was created to honor those lost in World War I. In 1965, the park nearly doubled in size with a donation of land from the Madison State Hospital, and today the park spans over 1500 acres. There are 10 trails that span over 14 miles and range from easy to very rugged. The park is of course known for its waterfalls, four of which are named, but there are numerous others throughout the park. Tunnel Falls is the tallest waterfall in the park at 83 feet, and was named due its proximity to an old railroad tunnel. This 600 foot long tunnel was excavated between 1852 - 1854 and was set to be part of the Madison Indianapolis Railroad, however the project went bankrupt and now the tunnel serves as an overwintering site for bats.
Park Geology - The limestone and shale walls that form Clifty Canyon were caved back when glacial meltwater drained south toward the Ohio River. The canyon ranges from 120 - 300 feet in depth. The park's 425 million year old shale and limestone rock contain numerous marine fossils and are among the oldest bedrock exposures in Indiana. Clifty Creek's stony bed contains many fossil remnants including corals, squids, brachiopods and more. The ruggedness of Clifty Canyon offers exciting hiking opportunities and scenery year round, however the best time to see the water falls is in the winter and spring.
About the Park - In the early 1900s, scientists, recreationists and nature enthusiasts, recognizing the value of the Indiana Dunes, fought to have the region preserved. As a result, in 1925, the Indiana Dunes State Park was established. Nearly 40 years later the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore was created making a unique situation of a State Park within a National Park.
With Lake Michigan as its northern border and a history of glacial advance and melting, a varied shoreline of giant wandering dunes, foredunes, pine-covered ridges, blowouts, marshes, swamps, bogs, forests, and oak savannas were created, ranking the Indiana Dunes more diverse than the State of Hawaii. These habitats provided homes for many types of plants and animals, from endangered orchids to over 350 species of birds being sighted within the park. In fact, the Indiana Dunes are considered to be the birthplace of succession. Ecological succession is the change in species composition over space and time. Professor Henry Chandler Cowles was one of the first researchers to understand succession and coin the term. He studied the changing environments around the Indiana sand dunes including the Indiana Dunes State Park. During his research he looked at how more species present farther away from Lake Michigan compared to closer to the beach. The wind and waves disturb the beach so as you go further from the beach, more plants are able to grow which therefore allows more animals to thrive. This created a gradient of different habitats that can be seen at the Indiana Dunes State Park today.
There are 7 trails totaling more than 16 miles that range from easy to rugged. A 1.5 mile hike loop covering the 3 tallest dunes along the Southern shore of Lake Michigan, called the 3-Dune Challenge, will give you breathtaking views at the top of each dune.
MONEY DONATED: $1,218
About the Park - The story of Pokagon State Park begins over 10,000 years ago, at the end of the last Ice Age. Glaciers that had once covered the northern half of Indiana began to melt and recede. All of that melting water and movement left behind some unique geological features we can see today throughout Pokagon. Lake James, Snow Lake, and Lake Lonidaw are all kettle lakes, formed when huge pieces of ice fell off the glacier and left a depression in the ground. Hell's Point, the highest peak in the park and the toboggan hill are glacial kames, formed at the bottom of a rushing waterfall inside the glacier. Pokagon's rolling topography and proximity to lakes made it an ideal place for a State Park.
The citizens of Steuben County thought so too when they worked to turn what was once farmland into Indiana's 5th State Park. In 1925, the people here donated the land and funds for the original acreage of the park and then gave that land to the State of Indiana as a Christmas gift in 1925. For the first two years, this land was known as Lake James State Park, but was renamed Pokagon State park in 1927.
Richard Lieber, who is known as the father of Indiana State Parks, along with local residents, wanted to honor the Potawatomi people who once inhabited this area. One of these local residents had heard chief Simon Pokagon speak in downtown Angola. Simon Pokagon was a renowned writer and speaker, who fought for fair treatment for the Pokagon band of Potawatomi. It was decided Pokagon would be a fitting name for this park.
During the early 1930's much of the property still looked like open farm land. In order to help turn the rest of the property into a functioning park, a Civilian Conservation Corps was stationed here in 1934. The CCC was a program created by President Roosevelt during the Great Depression as part of his New Deal. This program put young men, ages 18-25, to work all across the country planting trees, building roads and dams, and helping to create state and national parks.
One of the CCC structures is probably what Pokagon is more known for-the toboggan run! The original toboggan run was built by the CCC in 1935. It was not intended to be open to the public; it was just something fun for the boys to do in the winter. By 1938, the park manager at the time decided it would be a great attraction and opened to the public. The toboggan run has seen many changes throughout the years - taller towers, a second track and refrigerated tracks in the 1970's. Today it runs from the Friday after Thanksgiving to the last weekend in February.
Check out the brews:
Copyright 2022 All Rights Reserved